This is a little game they’ve been playing every New Year over at LibriVox. The fun is to try filling in the blanks on the questionnaire using only the titles of books you’ve read in the past year.

Here is the original set of questions provided in January 2014, with my answers based on the books I read in 2013:

Describe yourself: Working (Studs Terkel)
How do you feel: So Brave, Young, and Handsome (Leif Enger)
Describe where you currently live: On the Map (Simon Garfield)
If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Into the Beautiful North (Luis Alberto Urrea)
Your favourite form of transportation: The Underground Railroad (William Still)
Your best friend is: The Good Thief (Hannah Tinti)
You and your friends are: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows)
What’s the weather like: Winter’s Bone (Daniel Woodrell)
You fear: The Desperate Hours (Joseph Hayes)
What is the best advice you have to give: Warriors Don’t Cry (Melba Pattillo Beals)
Thought for the day: How Can We Keep From Singing (Joan Oliver Goldsmith)
How you would like to die: Long Walk to Freedom (Nelson Mandela)
Your soul’s present condition: Help, Thanks, Wow (Anne Lamott)

They repeated the game with the same set of questions in January 2015. Here were my answers that time around, based on the books I had read in 2014:

Describe yourself: An Excellent Mystery (Ellis Peters)
How do you feel: Quiet (Susan Cain)
Describe where you currently live: An Altar in the World (Barbara Taylor Brown)
If you could go anywhere, where would you go: The Little World of Don Camillo (Giovanni Guareschi)
Your favourite form of transportation: The Boat Who Wouldn’t Float (Farley Mowat)
Your best friend is: A Diary Without Dates (Enid Bagnold)
You and your friends are: In the Company of Cheerful Ladies (Alexander McCall Smith)
What’s the weather like: Snow in the Cities (Blake McKelvey)
You fear: The Inspector-General (Nikolai Gogol)
What is the best advice you have to give: Walk in a Relaxed Manner (Joyce Rupp)
Thought for the day: God Has a Dream (Desmond Tutu)
How you would like to die: One Came Home (Amy Timberlake)
Your soul’s present condition: Small Victories (Anne Lamott)

For January 2016, they’ve freshened up the game a bit by providing a different questionnaire for us to play with. Here’s how I filled it in, using titles of books I read in 2015:

All in all, I would describe last year as being: Windswept (Marq de Villiers)
I could have cried when: When Books Went to War (Molly Guptill Manning)
I would love to have some respite from: The Wreckers (Bella Bathurst)
The most unexpected thing that happened last year: Anything Can Happen (George and Helen Papashvily)
A recurring dream I had last year featured: The Inner Voice of Love (Henri Nouwen)
My non-bookish friends would say I’m: The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine (Alexander McCall Smith)
If you looked under my couch you would see: The San Francisco Earthquake as Reported in the Newspapers of that City
If I could no longer LibriVox, I would probably be: Nothing Daunted (Dorothy Wickenden)
Something most people don’t know about me is: My Discovery of England (Stephen Leacock)
My motto for 2016 will be: Imagine the Angels of Bread (Martin Espada)
I am most looking forward to: The Great Good Thing (Roderick Townley)
I’m tipping that the next big thing in Reality TV shows will be: Humans of New York (Brandon Stanton)

If you’d like to play, feel free to choose whichever set of questions appeals to you, and describe your year in books!

